Parish Church dedicated to the Visitation of Our Lady to St Elizabeth
Pjazza taż-Żjara tal-Madonna, Għarb
Għarb is one of the oldest parishes in Gozo. Established on 29th August 1679 by Bishop Molina and the old church known today as "Taż-Żejt", served as the first parish church.
The present parish church dedicated to the Visitation of Our Lady to St Elizabeth is situated in the village square. Construction commenced at the end of the 17th century and completed in the late 1720s as the local villagers struggled to raise sufficient funds. Works were at a standstill for a number of years after the completion of the structure up to the level of the pilasters. However, thanks to a local benefactor Francesco Mangion, construction resumed and the church was completed to replace the older and smaller chapel of "Taż-Żejt".
The design of the parish church is attributed to Giuseppe Azzopardo. The façade is an epitome of Maltese/ Gozitan Baroque architecture owing to its deep central concave form and symmetrical twin towers presents a powerful scenic back drop to the village square. The various wall planes, raised centerpiece, twin towers, and dome represent a unique interpretation of the local vernacular.
The Malta Environment and Planning Authority scheduled the parish church as a Grade 1 monument on 26th August 2011 as per Government Notice 782.